Executive Committee

The Yorkshire Union "One Voice" - Support and Representation

The Yorkshire Union of Law Societies is the umbrella organisation for all the twelve local law societies in Yorkshire. We believe that solicitors in Yorkshire  have a stronger voice when they speak together and the Yorkshire Union of Law Societies  gives solicitors across Yorkshire  that voice.

The Yorkshire Union of Law Societies supports its members, the twelve local law societies in Yorkshire,  by  representing  the interests of its members  with the Law Society, the Solicitors Regulatory Authority and other bodies, by promoting its  member’s events and communication between its members and  by responding to consultations on behalf of its members .

About Our President - David Barraclough

David is chairman of the Yorkshire Legal Support Trust, a member of the Council Membership Committee of the Law Society and a director and past president of Leeds Law Society.

Now retired, David practised in Leeds for more than forty years as commercial property solicitor.

Outside the law, David is a Trustee of the Yorkshire Regiment, a Trustee of the Friends of Lastingham Church and enjoys cycling slowly and messing about with vintage cars.


The History of the Yorkshire Union

The Yorkshire Post reported in 1970 that

“In 1844, the idea of a union of all the law societies in Yorkshire received the cordial approval of the Leeds Society but, it was not until 1898 after concerted opposition to the Land Transfer Bill of 1897 had demonstrated the value of union, that the aim of a Yorkshire Union of Law Societies was actually achieved”.

The Yorkshire Union of Law Societies was formally established in 1900 with the membership comprising all the local law societies in Yorkshire. For the last one hundred and twenty years the Yorkshire Union has been representing the interests of solicitors in Yorkshire

The governance of the Yorkshire Union of Law Societies is the responsibility of the Council which comprises one representative from each local law society, the officers of the Yorkshire Union i.e. the President, the Vice President, the Secretary, the Treasurer and the Immediate Past President and Council Members of the Law Society who represent the four Yorkshire Law Society Constituencies.

The Yorkshire Union of Law Societies meets on a quarterly basis at the offices of Leeds Law Society.

Executive Officers 2019-2020


Natalie is an Associate at Switalskis Solicitors, specialising in Healthcare. Natalie is a Past President of Sheffield and District Law Society.

Natalie is a committee member of the Yorkshire Lawyers Support Trust. Out of law, Natalie is a Trustee for Sheffield Mencap and Gateway, and a volunteer for Bluebell Wood Children’s Hospice. With any spare time Natalie is a keen long distance runner, and is in training for the Ride London 100 mile cycle ride.


Although not sure how it has happened, Diane is not only secretary to the Yorkshire Union, she is also the secretary of the Yorkshire Legal Support Trust and of Doncaster and District Law Society.

During the day, Diane is the Head of Personal Injury at Atherton Godfrey LLP in Doncaster where she has acted for claimants for over 30 years.

In her spare time Diane is Brown Owl to the 24th Doncaster Brownies, the Division Commissioner for Doncaster East Girl Guides and you might have guessed, secretary of the Hesley Wood Guide House Management Committee.


Fiona is a solicitor specialising in Wills and Probate and practises in Scarborough, North Yorkshire.  She is also a Notary Public.

Outside work, Fiona enjoys sailing, hiking, cycling and walking her black Labrador, Bramble.